Co-Chairs and Trustees


Chan Heng Chee

Ambassador Chan Heng Chee headshot





上海快三Ambassador Chan Heng Chee is Ambassador-at-Large with the Singapore Foreign Ministry. She chairs the Lee Kuan Yew Centre for Innovative Cities in the Singapore University of Technology and Design. She is Chairman of the National Arts Council, a Member of the Presidential Council for Minority Rights, a Member of the Constitutional Commission 2016 and Deputy Chairman of the Social Science Research Council. Ambassador Chan is a Member of the Board of Trustees of the National University of Singapore and a Member of the Yale-NUS Governing Board. She serves as a Member of the Advisory Council of Temasek Foundation Connects and also as a Member of the Executive Board of the China Cultural Centre. She is Global Co-Chair of Asia Society, and a Member of the International Advisory Panel, AXA Group, GIE AXA, Paris (France).

上海快三Previously, she was Singapore's Ambassador to the United States and Singapore's Permanent Representative to the United Nations with concurrent accreditation as High Commissioner to Canada and Ambassador to Mexico.

上海快三Ambassador Chan received a number of awards including The Public Administration Medal (Gold); The Meritorious Service Medal; The Distinguished Service Order; Honorary Degrees of Doctor of Letters from the University of Newcastle, Australia; the University of Buckingham (United Kingdom); and an Honorary Degree of Doctor of Laws from the University of Warwick (United Kingdom). When Ambassador Chan left Washington at the end of her appointment, she received the Inaugural Asia Society Outstanding Diplomatic Achievement Award, the Inaugural Foreign Policy Outstanding Diplomatic Achievement Award 2012 and the United States Navy Distinguished Public Service Award.

John L. Thornton

John L. Thornton





上海快三John L. Thornton is Chairman of Barrick Gold Corporation. He is Global Co-Chair of Asia Society. In addition, he is Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Brookings Institution in Washington, D.C. and a Professor and Director of the Global Leadership Program at the Tsinghua University School of Economics and Management in Beijing. He was Chairman of the Advisory Board of the Tsinghua University School of Economics and Management from 2010 to 2013. Mr. Thornton retired in 2003 as President and a member of the board of the Goldman Sachs Group.

上海快三Mr. Thornton is a director of the Ford Motor Company. He is also the Non-Executive Chairman of PineBridge Investments and Chairman of Silk Road Finance Corporation. He is a trustee, advisory board member, or member of the African Leadership Academy, the China Foreign Affairs University, China Investment Corporation (CIC), Confucius Institute Headquarters (Hanban), Council on Foreign Relations, General Atlantic, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, McKinsey Advisory Council, Morehouse College, and Schwarzman Scholars.

In 2007, Institutional Investor magazine named Mr. Thornton one of 40 individuals who have had the greatest influence in shaping global financial markets over the previous forty years. In 2008, he was awarded the Friendship Award of the People's Republic of China, the highest honor accorded to a non-Chinese citizen. The Chinese government also named him as one of fifteen 'foreign experts' who have made the most significant contribution to China's development over the past three decades.




Nicolas Aguzin
Prince Turki AlFaisal
HRH Prince Turki
Edward R. Allen IIIEdward R. Allen III
Isaac ApplbaumIsaac Applbaum
Mohit Assomull
Mohit Assomull

Joseph Y. Bae
Nicolas BerggruenNicolas Berggruen
Hamid BiglariHamid Biglari
J. Frank BrownJ. Frank Brown
Michael S. ChaeMichael S. Chae
Albert Y. ChaoAlbert Y. Chao
Purnendu ChatterjeePurnendu Chatterjee
Chen GuoqingChen Guoqing
Duncan ClarkDuncan Clark
Betsy Z. CohenBetsy Z. Cohen
Henry Cornell
Fritz Demopolous
Fritz Demopoulos
Richard Drobnick
Richard Drobnick
J. Michael EvansJ. Michael Evans
Renée FlemingRenée Fleming
Jamshyd N. GodrejJamshyd N. Godrej
Toyoo GyohtenToyoo Gyohten
Susan Hakkarainen
Susan S. Hakkarainen
George Hicks
George G. Hicks
Doris Magsaysay HoDoris Magsaysay Ho
W. Bradford Hu trustee portrait
W. Bradford Hu
Asia Society Trustee Omar Ishrak
Omar Ishrak

Mitchell R. Julis
Lewis B. KadenLewis B. Kaden
Sonny Kalsi
K.S. Kalsi

Adrian T. Keller
Caroline Kennedy
Caroline Kennedy
Mahmood J. Khimji
Mahmood J. Khimji
Asia Society Trustee James Kondo
James Kondo
Ram Krishnan
Ram Krishnan
Chong-Moon LeeChong-Moon Lee
Lee Hong-KooLee Hong-Koo
Ido LefflerIdo Leffler
Jean Liu
Jean Liu
Strive MasiyiwaStrive Masiyiwa

Harold McGraw III
Asheet MehtaAsheet Mehta

John D. Negroponte
Harold J. NewmanHarold J. Newman

Robert Niehaus
Gaoning (Frank) NingGaoning Ning
Indra NooyiIndra K. Nooyi
Richard L. PleplerRichard L. Plepler
Asia Society Trustee Thierry Porté
Thierry Porté
Stephen Riady
Stephen Riady
Charles RockefellerCharles P. Rockefeller
Nicolas RohatynNicolas Rohatyn
Kevin RuddKevin M. Rudd
Denise SaulDenise Saul
Stephen Schwarzman
Stephen A. Schwarzman
Josette M. SheeranJosette M. Sheeran
Neil ShenNeil N. Shen
Dong-Bin ShinShin Dong-Bin
Warwick L. SmithWarwick L. Smith
Harit Talwar
Harit Talwar
Oscar L. TangOscar L. Tang
Ernie Thrasher
Ernie Thrasher
Lulu C. WangLulu C. Wang
Kenneth P. WilcoxKenneth P. Wilcox
Zhang Xin
Zhang Xin
James Zirin
James D. Zirin
Fernando Zobel de AyalaFernando Zobel de Ayala

Committee Chairs

Executive Committee

Chan Heng Chee, Co-Chair
上海快三John L. Thornton, Co-Chair

Vice Chairs of the Board

Betsy Z. Cohen
Lewis B. Kaden
Lulu C. Wang

Nominating and Governance Committee

Lewis B. Kaden

Finance and Budget Committee

上海快三Robert Niehaus

Investment Committee

上海快三Harold J. Newman

Development Committee

Denise Saul

Compensation Committee

上海快三J. Frank Brown

Audit Committee

Hamid Biglari

Global Centers Committee

Edward R. Allen III, Co-Chair
Doris Magsasay Ho, Co-Chair

Strategic Program Review Committee

上海快三Betsy Z. Cohen

Chair Emeriti

Ronnie C. Chan (2011-2017)
Henrietta H. Fore (2011-2017)
Maurice R. Greenberg (1995-2002)
上海快三Charles R. Kaye (2009-2011)

Honorary Life Trustees

Peter A. Aron
Winthrop R. Munyan
Cynthia Hazen Polsky
John D. Rockefeller IV
Washington SyCip (In Memoriam)
Lisina Hoch (In Memoriam)

Trustees Emeriti

Hushang Ansary
Tom Brokaw
Pei-Yuan Chia
Jerome A. Cohen
Rohit M. Desai
Dinyar Devitre
Inger McCabe Elliott
John H. Foster
Patrick A. Gerschel
Carol Gluck, Co-Chair
G.F. Robert Hanke
James B. Hunt, Jr.
Thomas S. Johnson
Charles R. Kaye
Leo KoGuan
Linda Yuen-Ching Lim
Gina Lin
Vikram Malhotra
Clare Tweedy McMorris
Gita Mehta
Victor J. Menezes, Co-Chair
Robert Miller
Hugh M. Morgan
Ruth Newman
Nafis Sadik
Carl Spielvogel
Judith Ogden Thomson
Pote Videt
John S. Wadsworth, Jr.
Clifton R. Wharton, Jr.
Dolores Wharton
Cynthia Whitehead
上海快三James D. Wolfensohn

Presidents Emeriti

Vishakha N. Desai
Robert B. Oxnam
上海快三Nicholas Platt

Past Chairs

Grayson L. Kirk (1956-1964)
John D. Rockefeller 3rd (1964-1974)
George W. Ball (1974-1982)
Roy M. Huffington (1983-1989)
John C. Whitehead (1989-1995)
Richard C. Holbrooke (2002-2009)